ASNT… Creating a Safer World! ™

Mentoring Award

The Mentoring Award recognizes individuals or organizations/groups in the Society who work to encourage others to reach goals and set examples to the rest of the membership of what they could be accomplishing as mentors.


Nominees must be a current member of ASNT in good standing for at least the past five (5) years. Nominees must have made an outstanding contribution as a mentor. These contributions can be through a variety of channels or types of mentoring activities. Mentoring can be a one to one experience or an individual can mentor a group. Eligibility for the Award acknowledges mentoring in the following categories:

  • Individual: Assisting one or more individuals to reach their goals in the NDT industry that they may have not otherwise attained.
  • Group: Providing positive guidance to a group such that a goal of significant value to ASNT or to the NDT industry is achieved by that group.
  • Indirect: Providing mentoring opportunities for others by creating an environment that fosters and encourages such relationships with a positive outcome.


All nominations shall be in the form of a letter with the following information:

  • Name, address and business affiliation of nominee.
  • Tangible and specific information defining how, when, and to whom the nominee has demonstrated how members have been influenced to reach goals they may have otherwise not sought or been able to reach.
  • The letter must clearly indicate the mentoring category (individual, group, or indirect).

Click Here to Submit Your Nomination Online


The Recognition and Honors Committee selects up to five recipients each year.

Award Timeline

  • Nomination deadline: 1 February

For any questions regarding the award process or timeline, please contact ASNT’s Program Specialist at

Mentoring Recipients

2021 Recipients

Congratulations to Thomas Claytor, Nat Faransso, and Greg Garcia for receiving the 2021 Mentoring Award!

Past Recipients

Past Recipients

View the full list of past recipients.