New NDT Professional Recognition Recipient


Dr. Saptarshi Mukherjee

Dr. Saptarshi Mukherjee received a B.Tech. degree in Electronics and Communication Engineering from the National Institute of Technology, Durgapur, India, in 2013, and the PhD degree in Electrical Engineering from Michigan State University in 2018. He is an Applied Electromagnetics Staff Scientist at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory (LLNL). Dr. Mukherjee’s research interests include electromagnetic nondestructive evaluation, computational geosciences, imaging and inverse problems, and high-power RF devices. He has authored four patents and over 24 technical papers.

Dr. Mukherjee was nominated as one of the 2023 IEEE Antenna & Propagation Society Young Professional Ambassadors and currently serves as the chair of ASNT’s Research Council Program Committee, as well as chair of the Golden Gate Section of ASNT. He has served as the chair of the Electromagnetic Nondestructive Evaluation workshop at LLNL and a session chair for eight international conferences. He received the National Science Foundation International Research Fellowship in 2015, ASNT Fellowship Award in 2017, ASNT Student Travel Grant in 2018, Atmospheric Earth & Energy Sciences Division (LLNL) stand-out awards in 2021 and 2022, and Physical & Life Sciences Directorate (LLNL) External Leadership Recognition award in 2023.