ASNT… Creating a Safer World! ™

2021 Faculty Grant Recipients

Hossein Taheri 

Dr. Hossein Taheri is an assistant professor of manufacturing engineering at Georgia Southern University. Dr. Taheri obtained his Ph.D. from Iowa State University working at Center for Nondestructive Evaluation (CNDE). His main research area is in the field of nondestructive evaluation (conventional and phased array ultrasonic testing), structural health monitoring, in-situ condition monitoring, NDE 4.0 and machine learning which are supported by federal agencies and industry sponsors. Dr. Taheri is a recipient of 2018 American Society of Nondestructive Testing (ASNT) Young NDT Professional Award, 2016 ASNT Fellowship Award, as well as Iowa State University Teaching Excellence Award and R. Bruce Thompson Fellowship in the Center for Nondestructive Evaluation (CNDE). He has developed and taught undergraduate and graduate courses on nondestructive testing for manufacturing, OEM and smart manufacturing applications. Dr. Taheri also served as the panelist and chair for several NDT and in-situ monitoring for additive manufacturing (AM) events, and as a reviewer-editor for NDT journals and conferences.

Tzuyang Yu 

Dr. Tzuyang Yu is a Professor of Structural Engineering in the Department of Civil and Environmental Engineering (CEE) at UMass Lowell (UML). He also serves as Associate Chair for Doctoral Studies in the CEE Department at UML. He earned his Bachelor’s degree from National Yunlin University of Science and Technology (NYUST) (Yunlin, Taiwan), Master’s degree from National Central University (Chungli, Taiwan), and Ph.D. from Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT). His doctorate is in the field of structural engineering and materials, specializing in the remote electromagnetic imaging of concrete structures. He received the 2008 ASNT Fellowship Award (Cleveland, Ohio), 2009 Outstanding Alumni of NYUST (Yunlin, Taiwan), 2010 JSPS Fellowship Award (Tokyo, Japan), and 2017 Donald Leitch Award at UML. He was a visiting professor to National Chung-Hsing University (Taichung, Taiwan) and Visiting Scholar to National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology (Tsukuba, Japan). He is a member to ASCE, ACI, IEEE, ASNT, SPIE, SEM, ACS, AAAS, and Sigma Xi. His research has been sponsored by the National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), National Science Foundation (NSF), Department of Energy (DOE), Air Force Research Laboratory (AFRL), U.S. Department of Transportation (DOT), UMass Science and Technology Office, Advanced Functional Fabrics of America (AFFOA), NextFlex, and Massachusetts Department of Transportation (MassDOT). He is the director of NDT/SHM Lab at UML and Institutional Lead of UTC (University Transportation Center) Region 1 -- Transportation Infrastructure Durability Center (TIDC) (led by UMaine) at UML. Since 2009, he has been chair/co-chair of the SPIE Smart Structures/NDE Symposium. Besides NDT and structural health monitoring of civil infrastructures, he is also interested in applied mathematics, applied mechanics, structural dynamics, structural stability, and metamaterials.