ASNT… Creating a Safer World! ™


ASNT Recognizes 2018 ASNT Honors and Award Winners

17 October 2018

ASNT would like to congratulate all of the 2018 ASNT honors and awards winners for their well-deserved recognition for achievement. Each year, a dedicated group of volunteers reviews each honor and award application submission to select the papers, programs, groups, or individuals that best exemplify the spirit and merits of the recognition. As ASNT celebrates the honors and award winners at the 2018 ASNT Annual Conference Awards Banquet on October 30, 2018, the entire NDT community is encouraged to applaud and recognize this talented group as well.

ASNT Fellowship Award

Dr. Salvatore Salamone, Faculty

Arvin Ebrahimkhanlou, Student

University of Texas at Austin – “MEWR – A bio-inspired probabilistic framework for structural health monitoring of complex structures”


Dr, Thomas Schumacher, Faculty

Dr. Jason Ideker, Faculty

Ali Hafiz, Student

Portland State University - "Early-Detection of ASR deterioration in laboratory concrete specimens using full-waveform ultrasonic monitoring"


Dr. Kurt Sjoblom, Faculty

Dr. Ivan Bartoli, Faculty

Peyman Aminpour, Student

Drexel University - "Identification of Water Pipe Material Based on Stress Wave Propagation"


Dr. Laurence Jacobs, Faculty

Katherine Marie Scott, Student

Georgia Institute of Technology - "Development of a comparison model between second harmonic generation and nonlinear resonant ultrasound spectroscopy to improve material characterization"


Mr. An Chen, Faculty

Mr. Simon Laflamme, Faculty

Jin Yan, Student

Iowa State University - "Surface Sensing-Based Technique for Nondestructive Evaluation and Prediction in Additive Manufacturing"


ASNT Faculty Grant

Mr. Aleksander Vakanski

Dr. Lee Ostrom

University of Idaho, Idaho Falls - "Enhancing Opportunities for Distance Education in Non-Destructive Testing via a Web-based Course"


Dr. David Eisenmann

Iowa State University - "Development of a Course in Applied Nondestructive Testing/Evaluation"


Engineering Undergraduate Scholarship

Melanie Schneider

University of New Mexico - "Seeing the Unseen"


Sarah Sandler

Clemson University – “Nondestructive Nanotechnology”


David Zabel

North Carolina State University – “Nondestructive Testing in My Career”


Fellow of ASNT

Trey Gordon

James Knowles


Philip D. Johnson Honorary Member

Marvin Trimm


George Pherigo Tutorial Citation

Robert Smilie


Robert C. McMaster Gold Medal

John Newman


George C. Wheeler Excellence in Personnel Certification

John Kinsey


Charles N. Sherlock Meritorious Service Award

Marwan Baswari


Young NDT Professional Recognition

Hossein Taheri


Lester/Mehl Honor Lecture

Glenn M. Light


Outstanding Paper Award, Materials Evaluation

Stefano Mariani

Thonpson V. Nguyen

Francesco Lanza di Scalea

"Air-Coupled Ultrasonic Testing of Rails: Experimental Prototype and Finite Element Simulations"


Outstanding Paper Award, Research in Nondestructive Evaluation

Jongbeom Kim

Dong-Gi Song

Kyung-Young Jhang

"Absolute Measurement and Relative Measurement of Ultrasonic Nonlinear Parameters"


Research Recognition for Sustained Excellence

John C. Duke, Jr.


Research Recognition for Innovation

Sergey A. Vinogradov


William Via Bridge NDT Lifetime Service Award

John C. Duke, Jr.


50 Year Member Recognition

Joseph Bush

Ed Edgerton

Leonard Garcia, Jr.

Herbert Kaplan

Jack Spanner, Sr.


Mentoring Award

Marvin Trimm

Timothy Roach

Anish Poudel

Jennifer Anaya

Mohammed Abufour


Advancement of Women in NDT Recognition

Kathy Ferguson


Advancement of Active Military and Veterans in NDT Recognition

Jeffrey Wagner




President’s Award – Gold


Greater Houston

Greater Los Angeles

Miami Vallet

Old Dominion

Pacific Northwest

San Diego

Saudi Arabian


President’s Award – Silver

Rockford Stateline

United Arab Emirates



President’s Award - Bronze


Capital of Texas

Central Savannah River Area



Connecticut Yankee

Hampton Roads


Lewis & Clark

Mohawk Hudson

Narragansett Bay

North Alabama

North Atlantic

Northern New England



South Texas

Southern Africa


Section Charter Anniversary


Connecticut Yankee

Great Salk Lake

Greater Los Angeles

Greater Philadelphia

Hampton Roads

Lewis & Clark



For more information on these awards including criteria and nomination deadlines, please visit