ASNT… Creating a Safer World! ™


Nominees and Candidates for 2014 ASNT Officer and Director Positions Announced

3 May 2013

In accordance with the ASNT Bylaws, the Selection Committee of the Board of Directors announces the following nominees and candidates for officer and director positions to appear on the ballot for the term beginning 1 January 2014. The Selection Committee reported this slate to the Chair of the Board who provided this report to the Board at its 21 March 2013 meeting.


Chair of the Board, President and Vice President
The nominees for the positions of chair of the Board, president and vice president are:

• Chair of the Board: Raymond G. Morasse

• President: Roger W. Engelbart

• Vice President: L. Terry Clausing


The qualified candidates for the position of secretary/treasurer as determined by the ASNT Bylaws are:

• Secretary/Treasurer: B. Boro Djordjevic

• Secretary/Treasurer: Morteza K. Jafari

• Secretary/Treasurer: Danny L. Keck

• Secretary/Treasurer: Kevin D. Smith


Director at Large
Qualified nominees for the open director at large positions are as follows:

• Director at Large: Brenda L. Collins

• Director at Large: David O. Hall


Council Directors
Nominees for council directors on the Board of Directors are as follows:

• Marwan Basrawi

• Tsuchin (Philip) Chu

• William C. Plumstead, Jr.

• David E. Savoy


Additionally, petitions to be placed on the July ballot as a candidate for any officer or director position must be received by 1 June 2013. Petitions for chair of the Board, president and vice president must be signed by at least 5% of the Society’s voting members, including a minimum of 10 members from 10 different sections. Petitions for secretary/treasurer or director require the signatures of at least 2% of the voting ASNT members, including at least five members each from a minimum of 20 sections.

Balloting Notification
By 1 July 2013, all members for whom ASNT has an e-mail address will receive a balloting notification e-mail that will include voting instructions, a voter login identification, and a link to the election web page. ASNT will also mail paper ballots to all voting members for whom it has no e-mail addresses and by request. The completed ballots must be received on or before 16 August 2013.

Election results will be made public by 1 September 2013 on the ASNT website at and will be published in the October issue of Materials Evaluation.


Information on the Selection Committee’s solicitation of nominations for directors on the 2014 ASNT Board of Directors can be found in the December 2012 issue of Materials Evaluation (page 1355).